Goan women… and the written world


Aloke Fernandes <alokefer at gmail.com> sent me these inputs:


Am a regular reader of your blogs and posts on various goa-linked forums.In response to an old query posted by you on Goacom [I guess he means Goanet.org –FN] — on
notification of new goan authors, below are two recent releases, both
by Goans, and both based in part on fictional villages in Goa

There are also short stories (again based on Goa) by Nisha da
Cunha, and a non fictional account by Maria Aurora Couto but I do not
have a link to that. I have read and enjoyed all these books, especially the short
stories by Nisha (the only non-Goan in the list above!) … most of which
however have a darker side to them. You could update your database/
reviews section with any of these if you like. Do let me know if this
is of any use.

Thanks so much Aloke. Your post (though I knew these names, fiction doesn’t interest me as much as non-fiction….) suddenly drew my attention to the fact that in our, patriarchal, Goan society, women writers are fairly well well represented. As it happens, I kept up till late last night, reading some chapters of Imelda Dias’ How Long Is Forever? An Autobiography of a Woman Ahead of her Times.


technorati tags:, , , , ,

Blogged with Flock

One thought on “Goan women… and the written world

  1. How true! Did not realize these were all women…
    Though I cannot resist but adding that my favourite writer of Goan origin remains male;) (Victor Rangel-Ribeiro)

    Interestingly the new anthology of Goan writing, (Jerry Pinto’s latest offering) reflects this mix with writers including Maria Aurora Couto, Sonia Faleiro and Eunice D’Souza

Leave a Reply

