Goa press accreditation committee meets…

Goa’s press accreditation committee met on May 11, 2006 — exactly ten
months after its earlier meet held on July 11, 2005.

It may be recalled that the issue of accreditations was raised at the
recent Goa Union of Journalists general body meeting, with special
debate on the accreditations granted to representatives of the
electronic media and the contentious issue of ‘provisional
accreditations’ being given out by the government even while meetings
were not being regularly held to take a formal decision on the same.

Deccan Herald’s special correspondent in Goa Devika Sequeira was elected
chair of the press accreditation committee.

GUJ is represented on the PAC by Devika Sequeira, Umesh Mahambre
(2006-07 president), Ashley do Rosario (past president of GUJ) and
Sandesh Prabhudesai.

According to unofficial accounts of decisions taken, accreditations were
approved for Flaviano Dias (former PTI bureau chief), Mario Cabral e Sa,
Pushpa Iyengar (back in Goa and working for the DNA), Prakash Kamat (who
recently changed over from the ET to the Hindu), Bagli, Mayuresh Pawar,
Rupesh Samant (who recently moved to UNI, from Sunaparant), and S
Shanbhag of Navhind Times.

Further details were sought from (or accreditation was turned down) in
the case of Shareen, Sanjay Sinha, Ms Yadav, Devidas Gawde, Preetu Nair
(GT), Nilesh Naik (Pudhari), Jyoti Dhond, Tara Narayan (Goan Observer)
and Nandesh Kambli.

For a confirmed version of the list above, details may be obtained from
the information department itself. Or talk to someone who attended the
meeting; I didn’t.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s